Academic Dates and Deadlines

For complete registration and drop/add deadlines, see the University Registrar's calendar

For graduation semester deadlines, see the Graduate School's Graduation Deadlines page.


Summer 2024

For Prospective Students

Academic Calendar

  • Graduate classes in session: Wednesday, May 15 - Thursday, August 8
  • Drop/Add ends - Friday, May 17
  • Memorial Day holiday - Monday, May 27
  • Juneteenth holiday -  Thursday, June 19

Master’s Projects

  • Apply to graduate deadline for September 2024 degree - Saturday, June 15
  • MP Planning Session (required during course five) - Sunday, June 23, 2:30pm-5:00pm via Zoom
  • Proposal meeting deadline (for Fall 2024 projects; contact GLS early in the semester with supervisor availability) - Monday, July 15
  • Proposal Workshop for Spring Fall 2024 projects (optional) - Sunday, July 21, 2:30-4:30 by Zoom
  • Proposal submission deadline for Fall 2024 - Tuesday, July 30
  • Last day master’s exams can be held for September graduation - Friday, August 9
     

Fall 2024

For Prospective Students

Orientation Week 

  • Grad School New Student Orientation & Resource Fair - Tuesday, August 20, 10am-2pm
  • Grad School RCR (Resp. Conduct of Research) Master's Candidate Orientation - Wednesday, August 21  9am-Noon by Zoom
  • Grad School Welcome Reception for New Students - Wednesday, August 21, 4pm-6pm
  • GLS Welcome Dinner - Thursday, August 22, 5:30pm-7:30pm
  • GLS Get-to-Know-You Hike on the Eno River - Saturday, August 24, 930am-11am 

Academic Calendar

  • Graduate classes in session: Monday, August 26 - Tuesday, November 26
  • Labor Day holiday - Monday, September 2
  • Drop/Add ends - Friday, September 6
  • Fall Break (no classes) -  Saturday, October 12 - Tuesday, October 15
  • Spring 2025 registration opens - Wednesday, October 30
  • Thanksgiving holiday - Wednesday, November 27 - Sunday, December 1

Master’s Projects

  • Apply to graduate deadline for December 2024 degree - Tuesday, October 1
  • MP Planning Session (required during course five) - Sunday, September 8, 2:30pm - 5:00pm via Zoom
  • Proposal meeting deadline (for Spring 2025 projects; contact GLS early in the semester with supervisor availability) - Friday, November 15
  • Proposal Workshop for Spring 2025 projects (optional) - Sunday, November 24, 2:30pm - 4:30pm by Zoom
  • Proposal submission deadline for Spring 2025 - Friday, November 29
  • Last day master’s exams can be held for December graduation - Friday, December 6