GLS Dates and Deadlines

For complete registration and drop/add deadlines, see the University Registrar's calendar.


    Spring 2020

    For Prospective Students

    • GLS Information Sessions (TBA)

    For New Students

    • New Student Dinner - Thursday, January 9, 5:15-6:15pm (just before core course)

    GLS Events

    • Ideas & Conversations - TBA
    • Graduation/commencement [Spring only]
      • Exemplary Project Reception and Reading - first week of May
      • GLS Hooding Ceremony - Saturday, May 9; afternoon
      • Duke University Ceremony - Sunday, May 10

    Courses & Registration

    • First day of class - Wednesday, January 8
    • MLK Holiday - Monday, January 20
    • Drop/Add ends - Wednesday, January 22
    • Summer Registration begins - Monday, February 17
    • Spring Break - March 7-15
    • Fall Bookbagging begins - Monday, March 30
    • Fall Registration begins - Wednesday, April 1
    • Fall Registration ends; Drop/Add begins - Friday, April 10
    • Graduate classes end - Wednesday, April 15
    • Graduate reading period - Thursday-Sunday, April 16-April 26
    • Last day of semester - Saturday, May 2

    Master’s Projects

    • MP Seminars

      • Session I - Wednesday, January 15, 6-8:30 pm
      • Session II - Wednesday, March 4, 6-8:30 pm
    • Apply to graduate deadline (for May graduation) - Saturday, January 25
    • MP Planning Session (required during course five) - Sunday, January 26, 2:00-5:30pm.  GLS House
    • MP Research Workshop (voluntary) - Tuesday, March 3, 6:00-7:00pm.  GLS House
    • Proposal meeting deadline (for Summer projects; contact GLS early in semester with supervisor availability) - Friday, March 13
    • Proposal Workshop (voluntary) - Sunday, March 22, 2:00-3:30pm.  GLS House
    • Proposal submission deadline (for Summer projects) - Friday, March 27
    • Last day master’s exams can be held (for May graduation) - Tuesday, April 14
    • Exemplary MP nomination deadline - Mid-April TBA

    Academic Support


    Summer 2020

    For Prospective Students

    • GLS Info Sessions - TBA 

    Courses & Registration

    • Classes begin - Wednesday, May 13
    • Last day of semester - Sunday, August 9

    Master’s Projects

    • Master's Project Planning Session (required during course five) - Sunday, May 17.  2:00pm-5:30pm, GLS House
    • Proposal meeting deadline (for Fall projects; contact GLS early in semester with supervisor availability) - Friday, June 12
    • Proposal submission deadline (for Fall projects) - Friday, June 26
    • Apply to graduate deadline (for September graduation) - TBA
    • Last day master’s exams can be held (for September graduation) - TBA
       

        [Fall 2019]

        For New Students

        GLS Events

        Courses & Registration

        • First day of class

          • Crime and the City (LS780-88) Thorne -- Monday, August 26
          • Self in the World (LS750.02/03) Wicker -- Wednesday, August 28/Thursday, August 29
          • Sex, Death & Money (LS770-83) Malouf -- Thursday, August 29
        • Drop/Add ends -- Friday, September 6
        • Fall Break -- Saturday, October 5 - Tuesday, October 8
        • Bookbagging begins for Spring semester - Monday, October 21
        • Spring Registration begins -- Wednesday, October 30
        • Spring Registration ends -- Monday, November 11
        • Thanksgiving Break -- Wednesday, November 27 - Sunday, December 1
        • Graduate classes end -- Tuesday, November 26
        • Graduate reading period -- Wednesday-Tuesday, November 27-December 10
        • Final examinations begin -- Wednesday, December 11, 9:00 AM
        • Last day of semester -- Monday, December 16

        Master’s Projects

        • MP planning session (required during course five) -- Sunday, September 8, 2:00-5:30pm, GLS House
        • MP Proseminars
          • Session I -- Tuesday, September 10, 6:00-8:30pm, GLS House
          • Session II -- Tuesday, October 22, 6:00-8:30pm, GLS House
        • MP proposal workshop (for Spring projects) -- Sunday, October 20, 2:00-4:00pm, GLS House
        • Proposal meeting deadline (for Spring projects; contact GLS early in semester with supervisor availability) -- Friday, October 11
        • Proposal submission deadline (for Spring projects) -- Friday, October 25
        • "Apply for Graduation" deadline (for December graduation) -- Friday, October 25
        • Last Day to Hold Master's Exams (no exceptions) -- Monday, December 2  (note that Wednesday, Nov. 27-Sunday, Dec. 1 are not available due to the holiday)

        Academic Support